Cooperism’s – The Saga Begins…

Posted: February 15, 2011 in children, crazy, Family, funny, funny kids, kids, life, parenting, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Cooper gets his way with Grandpa!!!

          So every once in a while, I thought I could share some of the crazy things my kids say and/or do from time to time, especially since I have three boys. If you dare follow these posts over the lifetime of my children, I am almost certain you will be left praying and begging for a little girl, especially once my three Martians (maybe four if you include me) are full-grown and off on their own. I’m sure the accumulation of their stories will haunt you into wanting to purchase that vibrant pink Barbie mansion with the letter jacket Ken doll. OK, maybe not any of the above, but I hope it puts a smile on your face and one on theirs as they read this sometime in the distant future 

           I wish I would have done this more with Blake as his creative mind concocted and still does concoct some of the most outlandish sayings, producing classical comedic moments which left/leave us gasping for our breath on numerous occasions. I have a few of them which I will share in a later post, but for now, let’s check out some of our middle boy’s moments, also known as Cooperism’s. These are obviously much funnier to us when they happen in real-time and in person, but I wanted to start capturing some of these moments so we can share them with our boys later on in life and of course show them to their girlfriends when they are teenagers.

Cooperism #1

          Cooper’s Grandma and Grandpa Harris (my dad and step-mom) stopped in for a quick visit to look at an idea I had. My step-mom was going to look into finishing a project for me that my late mother had started and we wanted to take a look at it together. Cooper went missing in action as he sometimes does which usually means he is either hiding somewhere very discreet where no one would find him anyways or he is far away in some make-believe world which was created by none other than Cooper himself. OK, OK, he is typically down in the playroom playing make-believe something.  Even apart from these two activities, there are several rooms which could occupy his time, but it became very clear as to where he was when we heard the echoing sound reverberating from the restroom walls. Cooper made it to the restroom without telling a soul and then the echoing sounds bellowed from the wide open restroom door which Cooper purposefully left to ensure someone would hear him once he finally yelled for help. The time came and an unexpected request sailed past Cooper’s lips traveling from the restroom to the kitchen, falling upon deaf ears at first. “Danpah!” Cooper yelled. The joint interactive discussion we were engaged in muffled his first attempt and everyone seemingly shrugged it off. “DAAANPAAAH!!!” Cooper yelled. My wife looked at my dad and said, “I think he wants you”. My dad quickly responded, “Yes son”. “I went doop danpa”, Cooper replied in the most serious manner. We chuckled as my wife and I knew what was coming next. Grandpa Harris hesitantly glanced at us with a, what am I supposed to do or say to that look. Cooper was growing impatient by this point. “Danpa, I WENT DOOP!”, he uttered again with restlessness getting the better part of him. My wife looked around at all of us and said that Cooper wanted Grandpa Harris to wipe his bottom. My dad started walking towards the restroom, briefly looking back at us before resuming his slow pace down the rest of the hallway. Grandpa Harris peered around the corner and into the restroom as uncertainty overcame him.Cooper had indeed gone “doop” (Cooper’s pronunciation) and Grandpa said, “Good job buddy!”, still trying to avoid the impending outcome. My wife was correct the entire time. She knew Cooper was luring grandpa down the hallway and into the restroom so someone and that someone being grandpa, could wipe his bottom. And yes, Grandpa Harris wiped Cooper’s bottom.

Cooperism #2

                Cooper was at his Grandma Coulter’s house and decided to take his shirt off. He ran around most of the day refusing to put his shirt back on and when grandma thought he might be getting cold, she pleaded with Cooper to put the missing garment back on. Cooper wouldn’t budge though. At first he claimed he was hot; however, this excuse went to the wayside before long. The temperature outside was freezing, but inside it was bearable, as long as you had some clothing on. It was only a matter of time before his little lips started shivering and his teeth commenced to chattering, but Cooper held his ground. Grandma asked Cooper once again to put his shirt back on at which time he revealed the real reason behind his attempt at manliness in the midst of a cold house. Cooper informed his grandma that his dad was a worker and never wore his shirt in the house so Cooper said he was a worker too and didn’t need to wear a shirt either. What else is this kid going to pick up from me?

Cooperism #3

                It was getting close to Cooper’s bedtime and out of nowhere Cooper started saying his stomach hurt. My wife and I looked at each other with skepticism written all over our faces as we thought this must be some conniving ploy to avoid bedtime. Cooper said it a few more times in his little high-pitched voice while placing both hands over his stomach, “My tummy hurt”. His eyes gave a brief look of desperation as his tone and volume changed very quickly. His next line gave every indication as to why his stomach was hurting, “OH MY DOSH, I HAVE TO DOE TO DA WESTROOM! OH MY DOSH!” He briefly placed his hands over his private area and then moved them quickly to hold his bottom. Knowing that Cooper waits till the last-minute anyways, we loudly encouraged him to “GO AND GO NOW” and then he rushed down the hallway in a valiant effort to make it to the toilet.

What are some of your children’s Ism’s that have touched your heart?

Are you capturing these moments to share with your children down the road?

P.S. Cooper did indeed make it to the restroom, just in case you were wondering.

Comments
  1. Fran Hessenflow says:

    Once again you have made me smile. Just keep up the good work and I will tag along. Thanks Josh will talk again soon.

  2. Ken Harris says:

    I would have given anything to see dad go thought that. I sure miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

